Path: utzoo!attcan!uunet!samsung!usc!snorkelwacker!bloom-beacon!eru!luth!sunic!mcsun!hp4nl!tuegate.tue.nl!rc3.urc.tue.nl!tgcpwd From: tgcpwd@rc3.urc.tue.nl (Wim van Dorst/Prof. Penninger) Newsgroups: comp.os.minix Subject: Re: Your articles sold for cash. Summary: They _are_ legitimate Message-ID: <1838@tuegate.tue.nl> Date: 31 Jul 90 11:31:18 GMT References: <5414@castle.ed.ac.uk> Sender: news@tuegate.tue.nl Organization: Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands Lines: 29 In article <5414@castle.ed.ac.uk> tjc@castle.ed.ac.uk (A J Cunningham) writes: >[ text deleted ] Do they >have permission from Prentice Hall for what they are doing? >Secondly they are selling the contents of this newsgroup for profit. The >trouble is I don't see any way to stop them. Don't make such a remark when you don't read all the info |-( They _do_ have the proper permission for doing what they do. Why, even in a recent Information Sheet by Glen Overby they are listed as legitimate place to purchase your copy of Minix for the proper price, which happens to be indeed $87.75. If there is any posting recommended to be read it is the monthly information sheet (or the updates on it). Very good stuff to keep up on the latest official steps (releases and the such). Secondly they should not be stopped, but encouraged to do the good work they do, which is helping new Minixers with real help. If it needs using items from the Net, let it be so. In many countries around the world all kind of Minix User Groups are being formed (NL, UK, OZ, US, D, FR), which exactly that kind of work. Compliments to them. (For more information on these please contact info@minixug.hobby.nl) -b-b- -- Met vriendelijke groeten, Wim 'Blue Baron' van Dorst ----------------------------------------------------------- baron@wiesje.mug.hobby.nl and tgcpwd@urc.tue.nl