Path: utzoo!utgpu!news-server.csri.toronto.edu!rutgers!ucsd!swrinde!zaphod.mps.ohio-state.edu!samsung!uunet!mcsun!hp4nl!sci.kun.nl!wn3.sci.kun.nl!janhen From: janhen@wn3.sci.kun.nl (Jan Hendrikx) Newsgroups: comp.sys.amiga Subject: Re: Two for the price of one... Message-ID: <2079@wn1.sci.kun.nl> Date: 6 Aug 90 16:39:24 GMT References: <2070@wn1.sci.kun.nl> Sender: root@sci.kun.nl Distribution: comp Organization: University of Nijmegen, The Netherlands. Lines: 49 In article mwm@raven.pa.dec.com (Mike (Real Amigas have keyboard garages) Meyer) writes: >In article <2070@wn1.sci.kun.nl> janhen@sci.kun.nl (Jan Hendrikx) writes: > What makes you think those people aren't asking for freely distributable > software? > >Because they didn't ask for freely distributable software. Either >you've seen this letter, or you're defending a document you've never >seen. I have never seen the letter, I'll admit that first. All I know about it is from your description of it. And that does not include anything that indicates that they are explicitly ask for illegal software; the most compromising remark seems to be about the 'hottest' software around. But they _could_ (emphasis: could) mean programs like MSH with that. > Remark that could be construed as insulting, but that is not > meant as such: Was _your_ first thought: "I'd like to send them a copy > of this great commercial program FooBarPaint"? > >Nope. My first thought was that they're trying to steal software. A >very carefull rereading of the letter didn't provide anything to >dissuade me of that. After that, I thought about sending them a copy >of my latest software release; except that it was already out on a >Fish disk, So is it correct that all illegal activities are in the eye of the beholder? If you start with the assumption that something harmful is meant, it is not disproved by the letter. But apparently the opposite is also not disproved. (Note again that I have never seen the acual letter) > and the pyramid scheme itself is illegal in the US. That is of course an entirely different matter (unknown to me). Based on this fact, of course it is possible to take action. (But then it might be legal in the countries of the people on the address list.) > This looks like an over-reaction to me. > >This looks like a comment from someone who's expecting software >through the pyramid. Certainly not. I get most of my software from Fred Fish and this very network, since it is the best place to get quality software for the Amiga. IMHO. >