Path: utzoo!utgpu!news-server.csri.toronto.edu!cs.utexas.edu!samsung!uakari.primate.wisc.edu!sdd.hp.com!ucsd!ucbvax!hplabs!hpfcso!hpfelg!koren From: koren@hpfelg.HP.COM (Steve Koren) Newsgroups: comp.sys.amiga Subject: anyone heard of "Chiron Conceptions"? Message-ID: <13910042@hpfelg.HP.COM> Date: 28 Aug 90 01:34:01 GMT Organization: HP Elec. Design Div. -FtCollins Lines: 31 Has anyone heard of a place called "Chiron Conceptions?" Furthermore, does anyone have a contact phone number or address for them? I wrote some Amiga software a long time ago and it seems they are: 1) claiming it is PD even though it is really copyrighted by me, 2) selling it without my permission and making a profit from it, 3) not distributing the whole thing, causing me to get alot of phone calls from people wanting the rest. I'd very much like to contact them, but I can't figure out how. I should also point out that although the above has been reported to me by several unrelated sources, I have not verified it myself. It may not be true; I just want to check it out. thanks, - steve PS - a general question too: clearly they can sell PD software if they want. However, has anyone else who is the author of a *copyrighted* package had any problems with places like this selling it as if it was PD and trying to make a quick buck? These folks don't seem to realize that not all freely distributable software is PD.