Path: utzoo!mnetor!uunet!husc6!think!ephraim From: ephraim@think.COM (ephraim vishniac) Newsgroups: comp.sys.mac Subject: Re: GC Hyperdrive - Reliable ??? Message-ID: <16207@think.UUCP> Date: 5 Feb 88 15:06:23 GMT References: <1395@water.waterloo.edu> <11025@shemp.UCLA.EDU> <40838@sun.uucp> <1394@csib.csi.UUCP> <3992@husc6.harvard.edu> Sender: usenet@think.UUCP Reply-To: ephraim@vidar.think.com.UUCP (ephraim vishniac) Organization: Thinking Machines Corporation, Cambridge, MA Lines: 33 In article <3992@husc6.harvard.edu> olson@endor.UUCP (Eric K. Olson) writes: >Funny thing, GCC used to be on the net. I wonder if they can see all this >and don't think they need to defend themselves, or if they don't post >official positions, or if they don't read news anymore... >Eric K. Olson olson@endor.harvard.edu harvard!endor!olson D0760 > (Name) (ArpaNet) (UseNet) (AppleLink) I haven't seen GCC on the net since about the time they moved from Cambridge to Waltham. I suspect internal conniptions in the company, because they've also been using some rather unusual recruiting measures: 1. I got a direct mail solicitation from them to call/write/send a resume. The cover letter spoke in glowing terms of how I'd find it just as exciting as MIT. A friend of mine received the same packet, but it said BU in his copy. I don't know how many schools they covered. 2. I got a personal phone call from a fellow who claimed to be one of the company officers. (I've forgotten his name.) I've never heard of a company where the officers spend their evenings making "cold" recruiting calls. I did send a resume in response to this tactic, but it took them over a month to get back to me and I'd already started at Thinking Machines by then. Draw your own conclusions. Ephraim Vishniac ephraim@think.com Thinking Machines Corporation / 245 First Street / Cambridge, MA 02142-1214